Activated

Giving to Jesus

By Lily Neve

free-bible-studies-online-activated-giving-to-jesus

Three years ago, I began writing Christmas cards to Jesus—or rather, birthday cards.

I got the idea after reading an article about giving birthday gifts to Jesus, either directly or indirectly. Examples included the gift of praise for His love and unfailing care, the gift of faith, and gifts to others of service, kindness, forgiveness, and a listening ear.

The list got me thinking. What did Jesus most want from me? What could I give Him for His birthday that would mean the most to Him?

When the time came to send my Christmas cards, I picked up my pen and wrote one to Jesus.

Dear Jesus, I began. Happy Birthday! …

Some of the things I pledged to Jesus these past Christmases were probably one-time acts. Others were things I wanted to continue to do in the coming year or indefinitely. None cost money, but most cost time or involved small sacrifices. All, I believe, will have eternal benefits.

Last year I wrote my birthday card to Jesus on December 12. My plan was to give Jesus a different gift each day leading up to Christmas Eve.

In case you’re curious, my gift list this year includes:

Faith: turning my worries and fears over to God, and trusting that His plan for my life will work out for the best

Love: loving some folks who have seemed unlovable lately

Forgiveness: forgiving a certain person who doesn’t even realize she hurt me

Encouragement: finding the best in others and commending them for those qualities

Support: doing whatever I can to help others reach their full potential

Prayer: praying for friends and family throughout the coming year

My prayer is that these gifts will continue to have positive effects long after Christmas is past.

* * *

Let us remember that the Christmas heart is a giving heart, a wide open heart that thinks of others first. The birth of the baby Jesus stands as the most significant event in all history, because it has meant the pouring into a sick world of the healing medicine of love which has transformed all manner of hearts for almost two thousand years. Underneath all the bulging bundles is this beating Christmas heart.
—George Matthew Adams (1878–1962)

 
 
Copyright © Activated Magazine. All rights reserved.

Published by

frederickolson

I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me.

Leave a Reply

