Activated

Answers To Your Questions

free-bible-studies-online-activated-my-faith-in-god-is-being-attacked

Q: What should I do when I feel my faith in God and the Bible is being attacked by secular society?

A: The Bible makes it clear that we should have the conviction to stand up for our faith, while at the same time exercising love and wisdom and making sure that our personal example backs up our words. Believing in God and the Bible and having Jesus in our hearts is supposed to make a positive difference in our lives. That is what others need to see and hear.

It’s natural for people to talk about what’s important to them. If they have a favorite sports team that wins the championship, they get excited and tell others about it. If they make a great business deal or find a great buy, they tell others. If they find a diet or health tip that works for them, they talk about it. Why shouldn’t it be the same with you and your faith? You have as much right to talk about what’s important to you as anyone else has.

If you speak from your personal experience (“It happened to me!”), people have either got to say “I don’t believe you” or “It must be true, because you say so.” Tell how God has proven Himself to be real to you, and how your faith has helped you.

Don’t be intimidated by intellectual or philosophical questions, or worry about trying to answer others’ complicated arguments. The apostle Paul said, “My speech and my preaching was not with enticing words of man’s wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power” (1 Corinthians 2:4 KJV) and “I fear, lest somehow, as the serpent deceived Eve by his craftiness, so your minds may be corrupted from the simplicity that is in Christ” (2 Corinthians 11:3).

When it comes right down to it, most people would give anything to be truly happy. So if you can show them that you are happy and they can be too, they will be more likely to let go of their secular atheistic doctrines, unprofitable theories, complicated philosophies, and other false belief systems. They will gladly trade their confusion and anxiety for your truth and peace.

So when you feel your faith is being attacked, keep your side of the conversation sweet, simple, and personal. Tell whoever is attacking you, “Since I accepted Jesus as my Savior, I have found out that He really is who the Bible says He is—and He is the only One who can make you or anyone else truly happy. If I had found a cure for cancer or AIDS and didn’t tell anyone, if I kept it selfishly to myself, what would you think of me? Well, I have discovered a cure for problems that affect billions more people than cancer or AIDS. I know the cure for unhappiness, loneliness, rejection, and fear. If I didn’t share this cure with people, what would you think of me?” Then you can tactfully challenge them. “Jesus is the cure—plain and simple! Don’t you want to give Him a try?”

 
 

Copyright © Activated Magazine. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

