New Year

A Compilation

free-bible-studies-online-new-year

Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus
–Philippians 3:13-14 (NKJ)

*

Another year is dawning,
Dear Master, let it be,
In working, or in waiting,
Another year with Thee.

Another year of mercies,
Of faithfulness and grace;
Another year of gladness
In the shining of Thy face.

Another year of progress,
Another year of praise,
Another year of proving
Thy presence all the days.

Another year of service,
Of witness of Thy love,
Another year of training
For holier work above.

Another year is dawning,
Dear Master, let it be
On earth, or else in heaven
Another year for Thee.

–Francis Ridley Havergal

*

“Dear Master, for this coming year
Just one request I ask:
I do not want things my own way,
Nor plead for easy task.
I do not ask to understand
The way Thou leadest me,
But this I ask: Teach me to do
The thing that pleaseth Thee.

I want to know Thy guiding voice,
To walk with Thee each day.
Dear Master, make me swift to hear
And ready to obey.
And thus the year I now begin,
A happy year will be–
If I am seeking just to do
The thing that pleaseth Thee.”

–Francis Ridley Havergal

*

Just one thing, O master, I ask today,
Now that the old year has passed away,
And a promising new year, through grace of Thine,
With all the dreams of youth is mine–
Just one thing I ask as I onward go,
That I’ll walk with Thee–not too fast, nor slow;
Just one thing I ask, and nothing more,
Not to linger behind, nor run before,
O Master! This is my only plea–
Take hold of my life and pilot me.
–Author Unknown

*

How do you stand?

The end of the year is always a good time to look back and take stock, to examine the victories and even the defeats of the past year, to thank the Lord for all His blessings and all the triumphs, and to see what changes you might need to make for the year ahead. Remember, what the new year brings to you depends a lot on what you bring to it.

So try to take time for reflection. Take a little time to review God’s Word and the commitments you’ve made to the Lord. Take some time to ask Him how you’re doing and to hear His voice. And then take action to make the new year an even better one!

You don’t have to be bound by the past, whether it’s the past year or just yesterday! Today’s a new day, a new chance, full of new opportunities to be a brand-new person! Be a “new you” today and see what new things the Lord will do for you! Happy New Year!

–David Brandt Berg

 
 

Leave a Reply

